ISO 14001:2015 Transition

Why should you attend? 

ISO 14001:2015 Transition course enables you to gain a thorough understanding of the differences between ISO 14001:2004 and ISO 14001:2015. During this training course, you will be able to acquire the necessary knowledge and expertise to support an organization in planning and implementing the process of transitioning from an ISO 14001:2004 EMS to ISO 14001:2015 in a timely manner.

After becoming acquainted with the new concepts and requirements of ISO 14001:2015, you can sit for the exam and apply for a “PECB Certified ISO 14001:2015 Transition” credential. By holding a PECB Transition Certificate, you will be able to demonstrate that you have the practical knowledge and professional capabilities to successfully apply the ISO 14001:2015 changes to an existing EMS. 

Who should attend? 

  • Managers, trainers and/or consultants involved in an ISO 14001:2015 EMS transition
  • Individuals responsible for planning and implementing an ISO 14001:2015 transition
  • Auditors seeking to perform the ISO 14001:2015 transition certification 

Learning objectives

  • Learn about the main differences between ISO 14001:2004 and ISO 14001:2015 
  • Comprehend the new concepts and requirements of ISO 14001:2015
  • Learn how to effectively apply the ISO 14001:2015 changes to an existing EMS 
  • Understand the new High-Level Structure of ISO 14001:2015 and learn how to apply it to an existing EMS

Educational approach

  • This training is based on both theory and best practices used in the process of transitioning from ISO 14001:2004 to ISO 14001:2015
  • Lecture sessions are illustrated with practical questions and examples
  • Practical exercises include examples and discussions
  • Practice tests are similar to the Certification Exam 


A fundamental understanding of ISO 14001 and comprehensive knowledge of the transition processes.

More Details

  • Day 1: Introduction to ISO 14001:2015

    Day 2: Transition from ISO 14001:2004 to ISO 14001:2015 and Certification Exam

  • The “PECB Certified ISO 14001:2015 Transition” exam fully meets the requirements of the PECB Examination and Certification Programme (ECP). The exam covers the following competency domains:

    Domain 1: Fundamental principles and concepts of ISO 14001:2015

    Domain 2: Understand the differences between ISO 14001:2004 and ISO 14001:2015

    Domain 3: Understand how to apply the new High-Level Structure to an existing EMS

    Domain 4: Understand, interpret and plan the implementation of ISO 14001:2015 changes

    Domain 5: Plan and carry out the EMS transition based on ISO 14001:2015 

    Domain 6: Continual Improvement of an EMS based on ISO 14001:2015

    For specific information about exam type, languages available, and other details, please visit the List of PECB Exams and the Examination Rules and Policies.

  • After successfully completing the exam, you can apply for the credential shown on the table below. You will receive a certificate once you comply with all the requirements related to the selected credential. For more information about ISO 14001 certifications and the PECB certification process, please refer to the Certification Rules and Policies.
    The requirements for the PECB Transition Certification are:
    Credential Exam Professional experience MS audit/assessment experience EMMS project experience Other requirements
    PECB Certified ISO 14001:2015 Transition ISO 14001:2015 Transition Exam or equivalent None None None Signing the PECB Code of Ethics
    • Certification and examination fees are included in the price of the training course
    • Training material containing over 120 pages of information and practical examples will be distributed 
    • An attestation of course completion worth 14 CPD (Continuing Professional Development) credits will be issued to the participants who have attended the training course.
    • In case of exam failure, you can retake the exam within 12 months for free