ISO/IEC 38500 IT Corporate Governance Manager

Why should you attend?

ISO/IEC 38500 IT Governance Manager training enables you to gain a thorough understanding of the core principles for good governance of IT based on ISO/IEC 38500. During this training course, you will also acquire the necessary knowledge to support an organization to apply and manage the ISO/IEC 38500 Evaluate-Direct-Monitor model.

After becoming acquainted with all the necessary concepts and principles of IT Governance, you can sit for the exam and apply for a “PECB Certified ISO/IEC 38500 IT Corporate Governance Manager” credential. By holding a PECB Certificate, you will demonstrate that you have the practical knowledge and skills to manage an IT Governance model.

Who should attend?

  • Managers or consultants responsible for ensuring good IT Governance within an organization
  • Individuals seeking to gain comprehensive knowledge of the core principles of IT Governance
  • IT Governance team members
  • Expert advisors involved in IT Governance 

Learning objectives

  • Understand the core principles of ISO/IEC 38500 and learn how to interpret them
  • Learn about the ISO/IEC 38500 Evaluate-Direct-Monitor Model
  • Acquire the necessary knowledge to evaluate, direct and monitor the use of IT in an organization
  • Understand COBIT 5 and CGEIT

Educational approach

  • This training is based on both theory and best practices used in IT Governance
  • Lecture sessions are illustrated with examples based on case studies
  • Practical exercises are based on a case study which includes role playing and discussions
  • Practice tests are similar to the Certification Exam


A fundamental understanding of ISO/IEC 38500 and comprehensive knowledge of IT Governance. 

More Details

  • Day 1: Introduction to IT Governance and ISO/IEC 38500

    Day 2: Principles for the effective, efficient and acceptable use of IT

    Day 3: Outcomes, performance measurement techniques and Certification Exam 

  • The “PECB Certified ISO/IEC 38500 IT Corporate Governance Manager”  exam fully meets the requirements of the PECB Examination and Certification Programme (ECP). The exam covers the following competency domains:

    Domain 1: Fundamental principles of ISO/IEC 38500

    Domain 2: Evaluate-Direct-Monitor Model of ISO/IEC 38500

    Domain 3: Guidance for IT Governance

    For specific information about exam type, languages available, and other details, please visit the List of PECB Exams and the Examination Rules and Policies.

  • After successfully passing the exam, you can apply for the credentials shown on the table below. You will receive a certificate once you comply with all the requirements related to the selected credential. For more information about ISO/IEC 38500 certifications and the PECB certification process, please refer to the Certification Rules and Policies.

    The requirements for PECB Manager Certifications are: 

    Credential Exam Professional experience IT Governance project experience Other requirements
    PECB Certified ISO/IEC 38500 Provisional IT Governance Manager PECB Certified ISO/IEC 38500 IT Governance Manager exam or equivalent  None None Signing the PECB Code of Ethics
    PECB Certified ISO/IEC 38500 IT Governance Manager PECB Certified ISO/IEC 38500 IT Governance Manager exam or equivalent Two years: One year of work experience in IT Governance IT Governance activities: a total of 200 hours Signing the PECB Code of Ethics 

    To be considered valid, the IT Governance activities should follow best management practices and include the following:

    1. Defining a governance management approach
    2. Selecting an IT Governance model
    3. Planning the allocation of resources
    4. Managing IT related risks
    5. Ensuring IT compliance with legislation and regulations
    • Certification and examination fees are included in the price of the training course
    • Training material containing over 350 pages of information and practical examples will be distributed
    • An attestation of course completion worth 21 CPD (Continuing Professional Development) credits will be issued to the participants who have attended the training course.
    • In case of exam failure, you can retake the exam within 12 months for free